Quick Links:

As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases made via links on our website.

EntertainmentHow to unlink Nintendo Account from Nintendo Switch explained

How to unlink Nintendo Account from Nintendo Switch explained

The Nintendo Switch is essentially a gaming tablet with a touchscreen that can be docked and displayed on a TV. Even though the Switch does look more like a tablet than anything else, Nintendo insists that it is primarily a home console that will be docked most of the time – and only occasionally expected to be taken on trips. Unlike the previous Nintendo Wii U console, the Switch cannot be used in dual-screen mode: when the console transmits an image to the TV, its own display stops working.

There can be many reasons why you might want to get rid of your user profile on your Nintendo Switch. Maybe you created a temporary card for a family member to try out one of the great Nintendo Switch games available, or your roommate insisted on having your own profile, or maybe you’re expanding your Switch’s memory with a micro SD and want to get rid of it. Whatever your reason, you can get rid of it just as easily. So, here is how to unlink your Nintendo Account from Nintendo Switch.

How to unlink Nintendo Account from Nintendo Switch

Before you unlink your account, you should be aware that when you unlink your Nintendo account, your saved data and software may be lost. You will also not be able to play games on your Switch that were purchased with an unlinked account. Anyway, if you want to do that, you have to follow these steps:

  • First of all, turn on your Nintendo Switch and navigate to the “System Settings” from the main screen.
  • After that, scroll down and tap on the “Users” section.
  • Then, choose the user profile you want to unlink from Nintendo Account.
  • Scroll down again and tap on the “Unlink Nintendo Account” option at the bottom of the page.
  • A window with PIN should appear. Enter your PIN-code to proceed.
  • Tap “Continue” when prompted to confirm that you want to disable the Nintendo account for the user profile.
  • Finally, select “Unlink” when prompted to confirm again.

Once you have completed these steps, your Nintendo Account will be unlinked from your Nintendo Switch.

How to delete Nintendo user profile from Nintendo Switch

After you have deactivated your Nintendo account, you can delete your user profile, including your friend lists, settings, and social media connections. So, if you want to do this, you have to follow these steps:

  • Turn on your Nintendo Switch and navigate to the “System Settings” from the main screen.
  • After that, scroll down and tap on the “Users” section.
  • Then, choose the user profile you want to delete from Nintendo Account.
  • Scroll down again and tap on the “Delete User” option at the bottom of the page.
  • A window with PIN should appear. Enter your PIN-code to proceed.
  • Check the box next to “Delete” and tap “Next”.
  • Tap on the “Delete this User” button to confirm that you want to delete the user profile.
  • Finally, tap “Ok” when the process is over.

Once you have completed these steps, your user profile will be deleted from Nintendo. If you decide that you want to add a user profile to your Switch again, you will have to start over by adding a new user profile and then linking your Nintendo Account.

Discuss

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

More for you