Quick Links:

As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases made via links on our website.

GuidesHow to delete a playlist on Spotify

How to delete a playlist on Spotify

Sooner or later, if you listen to music on Spotify, you add playlists. Surely you may like them for a while. However, if you suddenly don’t want to listen to a given playlist anymore, you can delete it.

What do you need to delete a playlist on Spotify

Spotify is one of the largest and most popular streaming platforms. It contains millions of different music tracks for every taste and color. It would be strange if Spotify developers didn’t introduce such a great feature as playlist creation.

Spotify playlists allow you to listen to a large list of music that you have saved or that the app itself offers you. Playlists can be created either by Spotify users or automatically by the platform itself. You can actually create your own playlist and add the songs that you like and want to listen to on a regular basis.

However, sometimes that music is something you don’t want to listen to anymore. You may stop liking a certain style of music or composer. It doesn’t matter what your reason is. You can always get rid of the playlist. That means you can just delete it.

So, if you no longer like the music in one of your playlists, here’s how you can easily delete it.

How to delete a playlist on Spotify on an iOS device

If you want to delete a playlist from your Spotify library on your iOS device, you have to follow these steps:

  • First of all, open the Spotify app on your iOS device.
  • After that, go to the “Your Library” tab.
  • Finally, open the playlist you want to delete
  • Tap on the “Like” (heart) icon under the playlist’s picture. It should stop being filled with green.
  • If you’ve done everything correctly, you’ll see this message

Once you have completed these steps, you will be able to delete a playlist on Spotify on your iOS device.

How to delete a playlist on Spotify on an Android device

If you want to delete a playlist from your Spotify library on your Android device, you have to follow these steps:

  • First of all, open the Spotify app on your Android device.
  • After that, go to the “Your Library” tab.
  • Then, open the playlist you want to delete.
  • Finally, tap on the “Like” (heart) icon under the playlist’s picture. It should stop being filled with green.

Once you have completed these steps, you will be able to delete a playlist on Spotify on your Android device.

How to delete a playlist on Spotify using a desktop app or a web player

If you want to delete a playlist from your Spotify library using a desktop app, you have to follow these steps:

  • At first, launch the Spotify app on your PC or laptop or go to the Spotify official website using your web browser.
  • Then, go to the “Your Library” tab.
  • After that, click on the playlist you want to delete.
  • Next, click you can click on the “three dots” icon and select “Remove from Your Library”.
  • Alternatively, you can just click on the “Like” button. It should stop being filled with green.

Once you have completed these steps, you will be able to delete a playlist from your Spotify library on your PC or laptop or using a web player.

You should also be aware that:

  • When you delete a Spotify playlist, it disappears from your library, but it remains available to anyone who is subscribed to it.
  • If you don’t want to delete a public playlist, you might consider hiding it using the “Make Secret” option on the playlist settings menu.

That’s actually all you have to know about how to delete a Spotify playlist from your library.

Are Spotify playlists publicly available by default?

The playlists you create on Spotify are actually public by default, but if you want to keep them private, this is very easy to do. You can leave your personal Spotify playlists private if you don’t want other users to see them. This way, they won’t appear on your profile page and will be hidden from public view.

You can make your playlist private whether you use the Spotify website, desktop app, or mobile app. Whichever platform you prefer, you’ll find instructions on how to make your playlists private below.

Are the shared playlists publicly available?

The shared playlists are a great way to share podcast suggestions, share the latest music discoveries, and make perfect playlists with your closest friends.

Shared playlists will be public or private, depending on which option is enabled by default. If you have followed the steps above and made all your new playlists private by default, all shared playlists you create will now follow suit.

If you’re collaborating on a playlist you’ve been invited to, and that playlist belongs to someone else, whether it’s public or private depends on that user’s settings. If it’s public and you don’t want it to be public, ask them to change it in their settings or stop sharing.

Shared playlists indicate which user added each song, so keep that in mind when you also add songs to a playlist.

Discuss

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

More for you