Quick Links:

As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases made via links on our website.

Social MediaFacebookHow to send disappearing messages in Facebook Messenger

How to send disappearing messages in Facebook Messenger

Sometimes people while using different social media to communicate with each other. In some cases there are some secret messages which users want to be disappeared after to recipient has received them. If you wonder about that while using Facebook, you should keep on reading.

How to send disappearing messages in Facebook Messenger

Facebook Messenger is probably the last significant messaging app to execute the disappearing or vanishing messages option to their mobile apps. Facebook-owned WhatsApp already allows users to send disappearing messages. Messenger has implemented Vanish mode, but it’s limited to the US region only.

How to start a secret conversation

There are several ways to start a secret conversation on Facebook Messenger:

How to turn on Secret Conversation from User Profile

If you want to turn on Secret Conversation from User Profile, you should follow the steps which would be mentioned in the section below:

  • First of all, you should open Facebook Messenger on iPhone or Android.
  • After that, you should open a conversation where you intend to send a disappearing message.
  • Then, you should click on the contact name which is located at the top.
  • To complete the process, you should scroll down, and then you should click on Go to the secret conversation from the More Actions menu.

If you plan to send the disappearing message for the first time, you might not have an active chat thread in the app. In that case, you need to enable secret conversation from the compose menu.

How to start Secret Conversation from Compose Menu

If you want to start Secret Conversation from Compose Menu, you should follow the prompts which would be mentioned in the section below:

  • First of all, you should open Facebook Messenger, and then, you should click on compose button which can be found at the top.
  • After that, you should switch on the lock toggle which can be found at the top that switches on end-to-end encryption for your messages.
  • To complete the process, you should click on your friend’s name and you’re now in a secret conversation.

How to send disappearing messages in secret conversation

If you want to send disappearing messages in a secret conversation, you should follow the steps which would be mentioned in the section:

  • First of all, you should open a secret conversation.
  • After that, you should see the timer menu displayed on the right beside the chatbox. You should click on it.
  • Then, you will see the disappearing messages menu opened from the bottom.
  • To complete the process, you should choose a different timer option from 5 seconds to 24 hours. We like the options on offer here. They’re not limited to 3 or 4 choices only.

Select an appropriate time, and since then, every message you send will be disappeared from both sides once the recipient sees the message. For example, if you choose 5 seconds, all new messages will be deleted for each person 5 seconds after they have been seen.

How to change the disappearing message timer

If you want to change the disappearing message timer, you should follow the steps which would be mentioned in the section below:

  • First of all, you should open a secret conversation where you have already activated disappearing messages.
  • After that, you should click on the timer icon in the text box and look at the current timer.
  • Then, you should choose a new timer from the same menu and Messenger will show a notice to both sides with a fresh disappearing message timer.

The disappearing message timer can be changed from the profile menu as well. To do that, you should follow the steps which would be mentioned in the section below:

  • First of all, you should click on a secret conversation in Facebook Messenger.
  • After that, you should click on the profile name which is located at the top.
  • To complete the process, you should head to Privacy and support and then tap on Disappearing messages.

How to delete the secret conversation

If you want to delete a secret conversation, you should follow the steps which would be mentioned in the section below:

  • First of all, you should open the Facebook Messenger app, and then you should determine secret conversations. To do that, you should check the little lock icon which is located under the profile picture.
  • After that, you should head to the left side of the chat thread.
  • To complete the process, you should click on More and tap on Delete to remove any traces.

All in all, disappearing messages and secret chats is a perfect feature that has been provided by Facebook Messenger. This feature gives users an opportunity not to be worried about the confidentiality of their messages and be sure that they wouldn’t be corrupted.

To sum up, the process of sending disappearing messages is quite straightforward and effortless.

Discuss

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

More for you