Snapchat is a mobile app for sharing photos and short videos. Its main feature is the self-destruction of messages after a certain period of time.
Whether you’ve been using Snapchat for a long time or just recently, or even just about to install it, you need to understand some useful features of the app. And one of those features is the status of your message.
Yes, you can say that all popular social networks and messengers have had this feature for a long time, but it’s great that Snapchat has it, too. You can use it to see if the person you’re chatting with has read your message or whether your message has been sent at all.
It’s really helpful. After all, this way you will know exactly that the person has seen and reviewed the information you have sent him or her. It helps to avoid misunderstandings on both sides.
Well, here’s more about the “Received” and other message status icons on Snapchat.
Let’s go through it all in the right order.
What do the status icons mean on Snapchat
Snapchat uses a unique variety of icons to represent different things. The main ones are icons for sent, received, and delivered messages.
People share snapshots or chat with their friends on Snapchat. Each time they do this, different icons appear, and each of these icons means different things.
There are three icons in Snapchat to indicate that Snap has definitely been sent by you to your friend. Here’s what they mean:
- An icon with a purple arrow means that a Snap with sound has been sent.
- An icon with a red arrow means that a Snap without sound has been sent.
- An icon with a blue arrow means that the chat has been sent.
Alternatively, if the recipient is offline at the time of sending, the message will retain the “Sent” status until the recipient comes online and receives the message.
As soon as your friend receives your message, its status will change from “Sent” to “Delivered”. A new icon will appear to the left of the contact’s name in the chat list. The date and time the message was received will appear below the name. Keep in mind that these messages are still unread.
Once the person you sent a Snap or message opens it, you’ll see a different icon:
- An icon with an empty purple arrow means that the sent Snap with sound has been opened.
- An icon with an empty red arrow means that a sent Snap without sound has been opened.
- An icon with an empty blue arrow that the sent chat has been opened.
- An icon with an empty green means that the gift of money has been opened.
If the receiver repeats the Snap you sent, the empty arrow icon will change to a circular arrow indicating a repeat. The head of this circular arrow will point counterclockwise.
- A purple replay icon means that your Snap with sound was replayed.
- A red replay icon means that your Snap without sound has been played back.
You will also see several different icons when you receive a chat or snapshot from someone:
- A purple square means that you received a Snap or Snaps with sound.
- A red square means that you received a Snap without sound.
- A blue square means that you received a chat.
As soon as you open the received chat or snapshot, the square frame will turn into an empty one.
- An empty purple square means that you have opened a Snap with sound.
- An empty red square means that you have opened a Snap without sound.
- An empty blue square means that you have opened a chat.
- An empty gray square means that a Snap you were sent expired.
What icon do the screenshotted Snap or message have
Snapchat also works hard to ensure the privacy and security of its users. So if someone takes a screenshot of your Snap or chat, an icon will appear on your screen to let you know.
- An icon with a pair of crossed purple arrows means that your Snap with sound has been screenshotted.
- An icon with a pair of crossed red arrows means that your Snap without sound has been screenshotted.
- An icon with a pair of crossed blue arrows means that your chat has been screenshotted.
What does a pending status mean
When it comes to receiving or delivering snapshots, there are a few other things to be aware of. If you see a “pending” status on sent chats or snapshots, there may be several reasons for this.
If the recipient you sent the snapshot to has blocked you, you will see a pending status. If the recipient has closed their Snapchat account, you will see a pending status for the sent snapshots or chats.
Well, that’s all you have to know about sent, received, delivered, and other icons in Snapchat.