Quick Links:

As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases made via links on our website.

GuidesHow to remove an account from the Instagram app on iPhone or...

How to remove an account from the Instagram app on iPhone or Android device

Many of you have probably already tried Instagram and its features, but some of you might not like something or just get bored. So some people are thinking, if not about deleting their account, then just logging in on all their gadgets. Maybe in the future, you will want to come back again and you will not need to recover your account, but only enter your credentials.

However, you need to know how to do it because Instagram remembers your login and password by default, so you won’t have to enter your login and password every time you sign in to the application from your device.

However, this feature may not be entirely useful, especially if you access Instagram infrequently. And to keep your profile secure, you want to keep the standard sign-in procedure.

How to remove an Instagram account(s) via the iOS

If you own an iPhone, it won’t be difficult to remove your Instagram account from your device. Don’t forget that removing the account from your gadget won’t delete your account and all of its content. Other users will still be able to see you on Instagram, but you will simply be offline.

In addition, Instagram allows you to have up to five profiles and you can easily sign in and out of one, without any usernames or passwords at all. Instagram just makes it easier for you because it remembers your data. However, in order to remove one or all five profiles from your iPhone, read this guide:

  • Open the Instagram.
  • Logging out of your account won’t be enough, as it will be there the next time you open the app again. This occurs due to enabled saved login information, which you need to remove.
  • Ensure you’re currently in the account you want to remove.
  • Tap the profile icon in the bottom-right corner, not the big one towards the top.
  • Select the hamburger icon in the top-right corner.
  • Choose Settings.
  • Tap on Security.
  • Choose Saved Login Info.
  • Move the slider button to turn off saved login info.
  • Once you’re done with saved login information, make sure you’re currently on the account that you want to log out of.
  • Come back to Settings.
  • Choose Log Out at the bottom of the list.
  • You’ll be asked to confirm that you want to log out. Select Log Out.

Now, when you want to log in to your account, you have to enter your data, but it may be a safer option from cases where you might lose the device and malicious attackers can use your data. Your account is still active, but Instagram won’t remember your data.

How to remove an Instagram account via the Android device

If you have Android, then the way to enter and remove the account from the device will be almost the same as on the iPhone. If you need to remove an account or more from the list when you sign in, for example, if you have small children who can take the phone and enter your Instagram, this guide will help protect your profile from all sorts of actions towards your content:

  • Launch the Instagram app
  • Logging out of your account won’t be enough, as it will be there the next time you open the app again. This may happen because saved login information is still enabled, which you need to remove
  • Ensure you’re currently in the account you want to remove or log out of it and log in the account you need to remove
  • Tap the profile icon in the bottom-right corner
  • Select the hamburger icon in the top-right corner
  • Choose Settings
  • Tap on Security
  • Choose Saved Login Info
  • Move the slider button to turn off saved login info
  • After you’re done with saved login information, make sure you’re currently on the account that you want to log out of and remove
  • Come back to Settings
  • Choose Log Out at the bottom of the list
  • You’ll be asked to confirm that you want to log out. Select Log Out

Is it possible to disable an Instagram account

Disabling your account isn’t exactly a deletion, but other users will not see your account. So in case you need to quit Instagram for a while this option will do it. Moreover, you can reactivate it at any time. Here’s how to do it:

  • Go to Instagram from your browser (there is no option to do it via app)
  • Enter your credentials if it’s needed
  • Click or tap on the profile icon in the upper right-hand corner
  • Click or tap Profile, then select Edit Profile
  • Scroll down and choose Temporarily disable my account to the right of the Submit button
  • You will be asked to point the reason why you’re leaving. Choose an option from the drop-down menu
  • Enter your account password again
  • Click or tap Temporarily Disable Account

Note: there is only a possibility to disable your Instagram account only once a week.

And that is how you can manage your profile(s) on Instagram and even hide it from Internet users.

Discuss

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

More for you