Quick Links:

As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases made via links on our website.

GuidesHow to prioritize Wi-Fi networks on Mac

How to prioritize Wi-Fi networks on Mac

There is a default option on your Mac, it will be connected automatically to the networks which have been used often and most recently. In case there are several networks in your home, you nay think about prioritizing the particular one, to let your Mac connect to it. The article below will provide you with information on how to change your default wireless network on Mac.

How to reorder the WiFi network priority list on your Mac

To reorder the Wi-Fi network priority list you should follow the prompts which would be displayed in the section below:

The easiest way to do that would be from the Network section in System Preferences.

  • First of all, you should tap on the Wi-Fi icon from the menu bar and then you should click on the “Network Preferences” option.
  • After that, you will see the Network section being displayed from within the System Preferences.
  • There, you should toggle on the “Wi-Fi” option is selected and then you should select the “Advanced” button.
  • Next, a “Preferred Networks” section will be displayed in the “Wi-Fi” tab. There you will see a list of all the networks that were recently used to connect your Mac to the network. keep in mind that the list will already be sorted by preference, so, the first network from the top will be the one in priority.
  • After that, you should select the preferred network from the list.
  • Then, you should pull the network name to the top of the list and then it should be released.
  • After you see that the network has been moved to the top, it means that it has been prioritised. After that, you can change the priority of your networks to set the second and the third one.

In case if some time ago your Mac has been connected to an open network and you don’t want anymore this, you should delete the Wi-Fi network from the list. Pick the Wi-Fi network and then you should tap on the Minus button.

How to achieve the best possible speed

You can use the Wi-Fi system menu and, then, you should select Turn Wi-Fi Off until you need to print. Location can also be created using the Network preference. To do that, you should follow the steps which will be mentioned below:

  1. First of all, you should tap on the Location pop-up menu which would be located at the top of the pane.
  2. After that, you should select Edit Locations.
  3. Then, you should tap + to add a location.
  4. Then, you should select OK.
  5. Next, you should click on that new location in the Location menu.
  6. There, adjustments can be made. You can, for example, switch off WiFi.
  7. To finish the process, you should tap on Apply.

You can easily switch between locations from the  > Locations menu available throughout the system.

So, the process isn’t complicated at all, it’s only important to know what you should do.

Discuss

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

More for you