Quick Links:

As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases made via links on our website.

GuidesHow to turn on 'Last Active' on Instagram

How to turn on ‘Last Active’ on Instagram

A few years ago, Instagram introduced a feature called “Last Active”, which shows your followers the last hour you were logged into the app. If it doesn’t work, you can easily turn it on.

What do you need to turn on ‘Last Active’ on Instagram

Instagram is one of the few social networks that notifies people when you were last seen on the app. It also shows when you’re online, when you’re typing, and so on. You can see when your friends were last on Instagram, and they can see when you were last there, too.

To be more specific, the last time you were connected shows up in the Instagram Direct section (also known as Instagram Direct) just under the names of friends or contacts you’ve recently engaged with. However, don’t get confused, the connection time refers to the last time you logged into Instagram, not the last time you logged into the messaging section of the app.

There are many reasons why you might want to see the “Last Active” status on your friend’s profile. This is a feature that lets you know if a person is available for a post or is likely to respond to it. If you want to claim an inactive Instagram username, this status can give you much-needed insight into the account.

Well, if you want to turn on the “Last Active” feature on Instagram, here’s what you have to do.

How to enable ‘Last Active’ on Instagram on an iPhone

If you want to enable the “Last Active” status in your Instagram account on your iPhone, you have to follow these steps:

  • First of all, open the Instagram app on your iPhone and sign in to your Instagram account, if needed.
  • Then, go to your profile, click on the three dots on the upper right side and open the “Settings” menu.
  • After that, open the “Privacy” submenu.
  • Next, tap on the “Activity Status” option.
  • Finally, just enable it.

Once you have completed these steps, you will be able to turn on the “Last Active” status in your Instagram account on your iPhone.

How to enable ‘Last Active’ on Instagram on an Android device

If you want to enable the “Last Active” status in your Instagram account on your Android device, you have to follow these steps:

  • At first, open the Instagram app on your Android device and sign in to your Instagram account, if needed.
  • After that, go to your profile and tap on the “three lines” button at the top right corner of the screen.
  • Now, go to the “Settings” menu.
  • Then, open the “Privacy” submenu.
  • Next, tap on the “Activity Status” option.
  • Finally, just enable “Show Activity Status”.

Once you have completed these steps, you will be able to turn on the “Last Active” status in your Instagram account on your Android device.

Why does Instagram not show the latest activity

If you’ve never been able to see your friends’ activity status or have suddenly stopped seeing it, there are several possible reasons:

  • They don’t follow you.
    • Instagram lets you see when the people you follow were last active, so it’s the same in the other way around.
  • You have never had a personal conversation.
    • This feature is only available to people with whom you have recently communicated in a direct message inbox. If not, you won’t be able to see their activity status.
  • Your last activity was disabled.
    • It’s totally understandable if you don’t want anyone to see the last time you were active on Instagram.
    • However, as much as we hate to break it to you, it’s a two-way street. If they can’t see your activity status, you can’t see theirs.
  • They have blocked you.
    • If you click on a user’s profile and it gives you a “User not found” error, they may have blocked you.
    • To confirm the blocking, you can search for his username on Instagram. If nothing appears, you’ve probably been blocked. If you still want to double-check, look for his username on another profile. If it shows up, then they’ve definitely blocked your main account.
    • In that case, you may still be able to see them in your direct mail account, but you will no longer be able to view their activity status or write messages to them.

In any case, this feature, which many call invasive and annoying, can easily be turned off. Just keep in mind that if you don’t want your contacts to see the last time you connected and you decide to disable it, you won’t be able to see the last time others connected.

Discuss

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

More for you