Quick Links:

As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases made via links on our website.

GuidesHow to remove Twitter followers

How to remove Twitter followers

Twitter has now become an integral part of many people’s lives. It’s a way to read the news in the morning, communicate with someone or just have fun after a hard day’s work. For others, Twitter is even part of their business, so it’s very important to provide a comfortable and safe environment for their account. Fortunately, Twitter allows you to do this and lets you manage your followers, control their subscriptions to you, block them, and simply filter potential followers.

However, before you start removing followers and putting things in order, it’s worth mentioning that in the past it was impossible to do this in one click. Although people on Twitter just found a workaround – literally blocking and unblocking a particular person.

That way, the person no longer had access to your account for a few seconds, and then they just had to manually subscribe to you again. However, Twitter never lets you know if you’ve been blocked or deleted, so the only way to find out is to go back to the page and see that you’re not subscribed to someone.

Though recently, in October 2021 to be exact, Twitter made a feature to remove followers from your page. They will not see that you have removed them, but now you don’t have to block and unblock them, as it was before. Well, at least on the desktop version of Twitter. If you mainly use Twitter via iOS or Android, you still need to use the old workaround.

How to fet rid of unwanted followers via Twitter

If you’re tired of constant spam, or you just don’t like the fact that a certain person sees your tweets, you can use your PC or laptop to quickly remove the wrong person from your list of followers:

  • Open the Twitter app in a browser such as Edge, Brave, Firefox, or Chrome. Any internet browser is fine
  • Go to the account of the person you wish to remove
  • Select More (the three horizontal dots)
  • Select Remove this follower

Now a person will not even immediately notice that you’re missing from their feed.

How to properly remove followers via iOS or Android

If you don’t have a PC or laptop, using a method called “soft block” you can remove a specific person or group of accounts from your followers. The point is that this method blocks the person for a few seconds and then you manually select the unblock option again (if you want, of course, you can leave the person on the block list, which implies that he has limited access to your account). So you don’t block the person, they can still see and read your account, but not through their news feed. Here is how to do it:

  • Open the navigation menu and select your profile picture
  • Select Followers. Go through your list and manually block, then unblock each account you don’t want following you
  • From your Followers list, select an account to go to that person’s profile
  • Select the three ellipsis icon in the upper-right corner
  • Select Block
  • Select Block on the confirmation screen
  • Tap Unblock. The account is now unblocked, but the person is no longer following you

Don’t worry, those who are blocked for a few seconds won’t get a notification that they’re blocked. It’s just that by blocking their account, you won’t be able to see the content on their page, and the flip side is the content on yours. In order for both sides to have access to each other’s content, but not subscribe to each other, just use the methods above.

Well, if you want to protect your account from potential detractors, or if you only want to tweet to your family and friends, then Twitter has the Protect your Tweets function. In Settings, select Privacy and safety and find the option you need. Your account will be protected from prying eyes, and potential followers will request access to your tweets.

Discuss

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

More for you