Quick Links:

As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases made via links on our website.

GuidesHow to forget a saved Wi-Fi network on Windows 11

How to forget a saved Wi-Fi network on Windows 11

If you have a large number of different saved wi-fi networks piled up, it can be quite distracting. In this case, it is a good idea to remove unnecessary saved networks from your PC. However, many users still don’t know how they can remove wi-fi networks from their Windows 11 computers.

What to Do to Forget Saved Wi-Fi Networks in Windows 11

The Internet really can be called one of the most significant inventions of our time. With its help, the world has changed very much and quickly. First of all people and their lifestyles have changed.

Now each of us has almost constant access to the World Wide Web where we can do anything. Users can find all kinds of information, listen to their favorite music, talk to friends or acquaintances, watch movies, and do many other things on the Internet. All this is made possible because the Internet today has become available to literally everyone.

Some 20 years ago, access to the Internet was quite a challenge. To do this, people had to use their computers and pull them through cables that connected them to the network. At that time, the Internet was pretty slow and very unfriendly to new users. It took a lot of effort for people to figure out the many aspects of using the services at that time.

However, this began to change rapidly with the advent of technology such as Wi-Fi. This is a technology that provides compatible devices with wireless access to the Internet. This means that on your laptop or smartphone, you just turn on the Wi-Fi and if there’s a suitable access point nearby, you’re already online.

It really is very convenient and functional. This technology quickly gained popularity, and today you can find Wi-Fi in every house, restaurant, and public place.

However, such a large number of access points around you has led to the fact that your devices can be overflowing with saved Wi-Fi access points. It can be quite distracting when in the huge list of random access points you’ve ever connected to, you’re trying to find the one you need at that very moment.

This is a problem that many users of the latest Windows 11 have encountered. However, not everyone knows that it is actually quite easy to delete saved Wi-Fi access points. It will literally take you a few seconds.

How to forget an already connected Wi-Fi network

Since Windows 11 didn’t come out that long ago, many users are just now starting to upgrade to the new system. It is very similar to windows 10, but quite a few changes have been made, mostly visual, of course, and software features have been added a lot. So users may encounter different problems with Windows 11, for example, many people don’t know that it is possible to forget an already saved network when you connect to it directly from the desktop.

It would be quite easy to do this. To do this you need:

  • Click on the Wi-Fi icon in the bottom right corner of your desktop. It’s located right on the taskbar. This will open the Quick Menu for settings.
  • In the Quick Menu at the top chatty area, you can find the Wi-Fi icon, and next to it will be an arrow pointing to the right, click on it.
  • You will see a list of available Wi-Fi networks and which network you’re already connected to.
  • Then you just need to find the desired network in this list and right-click on it.
  • A pop-up window will appear in front of you, where you just need to click the Forget button to delete the saved Wi-Fi network from your computer.

It is also important to remember that if you click the Forget button, it will delete all network data from your PC, including the Wi-Fi password data. So you should be careful and make sure that you remember the password from this network if you plan to connect to it in the future.

You should also be aware that your PC will no longer be able to connect to it automatically. You will need to connect manually next time with your password.

How to delete saved Wi-Fi via settings

If you need to delete the data of a Wi-Fi network that isn’t within the reception range of your PC and you aren’t connected to it, in order to do this you need to use the settings of your PC. To do this you need to:

  • Go to Settings on your computer with Windows 11. You can do this with the keyboard shortcut “Win + I“.
  • Then you need to go to the Network & Internet tab.
  • After that, click on the Wi-Fi button.
  • Here you will find the item “Manage Known Networks“.
  • In the next menu, you will see a list of all the Wi-Fi networks that are stored on your PC. Simply click on the Forget button next to the desired network to delete it.

As you can see it is quite easy to remove the wi-fi network from your computer. The main thing to remember is that it will permanently delete all data about that network and to reconnect to it you will have to enter the password for it again.

Discuss

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

More for you