Quick Links:

As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases made via links on our website.

GuidesDoes LinkedIN notify a person when you view their profile

Does LinkedIN notify a person when you view their profile

LinkedIn is the world’s largest professional network on the internet. You can use LinkedIn can be used for many things such as : searching for the right job or internship, connecting and strengthen professional relationships, and learning the skills you need to be successful in your career. LinkedIn can be accessed from a desktop, LinkedIn mobile app, mobile web experience, or the LinkedIn Lite Android mobile app.

If you have completed your LinkedIn profile, it will give you a lot of opportunities. For example, it can help you connect with opportunities by showcasing your unique professional story through experience, skills, and education.

LinkedIn can also be used to organize offline events, join groups, write articles, post photos and videos, and more.

LinkedIn doesn’t do subtlety. By default, if you go to someone’s profile page the site assumes you’ll want them to know – as if they’re guaranteed to find the attention intriguing or flattering, rather than downright creepy. 

Many people feel confused because of this feature. So what to do in case if you don’t want someone to know you’ve visited their profile? Well, there are a couple of options, though they all have their drawbacks.

Why LinkedIn is like this 

I know. I think it’s trying a bit too hard as well. However, then it’s supposed to be a networking site, so perhaps giving people a push in the right direction by telling them when others are interested in connecting is a good thing? 

Or maybe it just means you feel rejected when someone visits your profile and buggers off again without saying “hi”. Your mileage may vary. 

How to stop LinkedIn showing people you viewed their profile

LinkedIn provides people with an opportunity to restrict people to knowing that you have visited their account. Activating this mode will mean that instead of saying your account was visited by [Name] from [Company], it can be anonymized to be a [Job Title] in the [Industry] or even just “Anonymous LinkedIn Member”. To do that, you should: go to Settings & Privacy, then “Profile viewing options” under “How others see your LinkedIn activity.”

“Selecting Private profile characteristics or Private mode will disable Who’s Viewed Your Profile and erase your viewer history,” the page warns. Yes, in other words, if you want to be anonymous to others, everyone becomes anonymous to you – which is fair enough, really.

That is unless you’re willing to pay. If you upgrade to LinkedIn Premium, you get to have your cake and eat it too: being anonymous to others while seeing people who visited your profile (unless they’re in Private mode, of course). 

However what if you just want to see one person’s profile without them knowing, but don’t want to lose your entire history? Well, in this case, Incognito mode can be used to assume the person you’re looking up has a distinct name and industry.  

Simply open an Incognito window in your browser of choice, then Google your contact’s name and company plus the word “LinkedIn”. Note that most people’s privacy settings will prevent this from showing too much of their profile, but it might be enough for a top line and crucially they won’t know who dropped by.

So, all in all, the process of stopping LinkedIn showing people you viewed their profile is not as complicated as you may thought.

Discuss

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

More for you